Crocheting!

Hey y’all!

I apologize for being absent these past few weeks. School just picked up all of sudden and before I knew it I was swamped with work! So today I thought I would post something related to a hobby of mine that I love dearly. If you couldn’t guess from the title, it’s crocheting. A crocheted afghan (blanket) to be more specific.

When I was in high school one of my engineering teachers loved crocheting as much as me, and as a graduation gift, she gave me a book of different crochet squares that you assemble to make an afghan. I held off making it until just before I left for college in August and I finished it early this morning! Eight months in the making, and I am very happy with the outcome! Take a look,

afghan 1

afghan 3
Each square is a different stitch, 63 blocks in total

On the edge of the blanket I used a scallop edging,

afghan 4

For those of you who find this interesting, the book that my teacher gave me was, 63 Easy to Crochet Pattern Stitches Combine to Make an Heirloom Afghan by Darla Sims.

I love the book! Very easy to follow and if you are just starting out crocheting I highly recommend it, you start from the basics and work your way up to the more difficult stitches.

For me I use crocheting to relax and decompress from school and life in general. To me things that are semi-repetitive and very structured are relaxing to do because they are mindless. I recommend giving it a try if you’ve never done it before, even if you don’t think you’ll get anything out of it, it’s worth a shot for everyone.

 

Hope you all had a great Friday!

 

~Molly