Flourless Pancakes!

20160130_123108 (2)

Hey Y’all!

Hope everyone is having a great Tuesday! Last week when I decided to give up bread for a week, I really got a craving for pancakes! After some time searching Pinterest I came to the conclusion that the only way I was going to get pancakes without any flour at all was to use bananas and eggs. Now I’m not a huge cooking-with-bananas type person. I don’t like banana bread, banana nut muffins, and sometimes I don’t like banana pudding (If its made correctly its great, but that’s besides the point). I was scared to use my scarce food resources here at school if I wasn’t 100% sure that I was going to like what I made. But the craving got the better of me and so I decided to do it, and boy am I glad I did because they were delicious!!! I would honestly make these in place of normal pancakes. They were tasty and they had lots of health benefits, like being relatively high in protein.

Now when I was researching this topic online, most people just used bananas and eggs. I ran across one that had some baking soda and vanilla in it too. And because my mind runs a thousand miles a minute, this got me thinking about the science behind baking. I did a little bit more research about the difference between baking soda and baking powder, the effect Greek yogurt has, etc, etc. In the end, I decided to freestyle-it and came up with the following recipe,

Flourless Pancakes:

Prep Time: 5 min

Cook Time: 15 min

Makes about 6-8 5″-6″ diameter pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Banana (online it said for them to be ripe, however my intense need for pancakes couldn’t wait another day for my bananas to get riper, so I used one that was yellow with just a few spots).
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4C Greek Yogurt (I used Siggi’s vanilla)
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp Cinnamon (if you couldn’t tell, 1/4 tsp was the only measuring spoon I could find at the time πŸ™‚ )
  • Pinch of Salt
  • Pinch of Sugar (I added this because I was slightly scared of the banana taste, so I thought this would even it out. You could leave it out and they would still be fine)

Directions:

  1. Put all of the wet ingredients in the blender and blend until you get a homogeneous mixture.
  2. In a small bowl mix together all of the dry ingredients.
  3. Pour dry ingredients into the blender with the wet ingredients.
  4. Blend until thoroughly mixed. Batter will be thin and the smell reminded me of a banana smoothie my mom makes.
  5. Cook on a greased pan on medium to medium high heat until top and sides begin to bubble. This is where I messed up, I didn’t grease my pan before cooking because I have a non-stick pan. However, because these pancakes are so thin, and because they don’t have any flour in them, they kind of stuck to the pan slightly and I had a really hard time turning them over. The next time I make them I will definitely be greasing my pan. If making these in a college dorm, I also suggest bringing a plate with you to the community kitchen to put the pancakes on, because you know I managed to forget that to πŸ™‚ .
  6. Once all the pancakes are cooked up, top with butter and syrup and enjoy!

Another good way to top these pancakes if you don’t like syrup is just with peanut butter. I know it may sound weird, but like with eggs and ketchup, don’t knock it ’till you try it! You can also cook this batter in the microwave for even faster cook time! I microwaved some of the leftover batter I had on high for about a minute. Let me know what you think of this recipe!

Enjoy!

 

~Molly

Leave a Reply

