Cutting it Out!

My lovely readers,

For years I have always wanted to work on my eating habits, not because they were horrible or anything, I just always wanted to eat more fruits and veggies. However, like what happens with most people, life gets in the way and I found myself making excuse after excuse to not eat better. Then when I got to college I realized I had complete control over what I ate and since starting I have improved my intake of vegetables and fruits and decreased my intake of processed sugars and things of that nature.

In the past few weeks I have carefully looked at what I eat daily, and while I do eat a lot of the good stuff, I found out that I eat an awful lot of carbohydrates, specifically in the form of bread, pasta, oats, etc, etc. After this realization I decided to try an experiment on myself just to see what happens. I have decided to cut out bread for the next week of my life. I am choosing to do this not only because of articles that I have read over the years or conversations I’ve had with my doctor, but because I want to know that I can do it, that I can survive a week without my favorites like mac and cheese and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I want to prove to myself that I can exercise the amount of restraint and discipline that I know I will need to make it through the next week.

So here’s the rules: I can eat anything I want so long as it’s not bread.

My Definition of Bread:

  • Bread (If it’s in a bag and labeled bread, I don’t care what kind, white, whole grain, etc)
  • Bagels
  • Pasta
  • White Rice
  • Pizza (One of my other favorite foods and one that they serve in our dining halls here on campus daily, I will miss it for sure, but I must be strong 😛 )
  • Cake
  • Pancakes and Waffles (Whether they’re homemade or frozen, most of em have flour or quinoa, or oats, or something that is on this list, or can be inferred to be on this list).
  • Did I mention pasta?
  • Cereal or Granola
  • Crackers
  • Chips (Ah yes, something I know we all love to snack on sometimes, it’s quick, easy and delicious, but I will be chipless for the next week, and I will be as happy as a bird with a chip)
  • Potatoes (Now I know that potatoes have their health benefits, but for me they are something that weighs very heavy on my stomach, so we’re going to just cut ’em out and see what happens)
  • Oatmeal (On my poster that I put on the back of my door, I have oatmeal as something I can eat, but I decided at the last minute to cut it out!)

Now for all of the fun stuff that I will be able to eat!

  • Meat (As my dad always says, you can never have too much meat, and in my opinion, he is correct)
  • Vegetables (except potatoes)
  • Fruits
  • Cheese
  • Yogurt and Milk
  • Brown Rice (only a night or two during the experiment)
  • Tortillas
  • Ice Cream (Just plain old vanilla an evening or two during the week to make life a little sweeter)
20160124_220615 (2)
I made this little poster to put on the back of my door to remind me of what my goal is for this week

Being the engineering student I am I have also come up with a few different factors to look at during this experiment on myself. The first thing that I really want to look at is how I feel physically. At the end of this experiment will I still feel as tired and sluggish as I do now (even though I get plenty of sleep)? If the case ends up being that I do feel better, I will adjust my future eating habits to continue to feel better.

Something else I wanted to look at is my nail strength and growth. I don’t know about y’all, but I hate having weak nails that break all the time, it’s just a pain. So for this purpose, I have cut all of my nails down and will look at them throughout the week and see if I see improvement.

20160124_143202 (2)
Here’s my nails as of today, we shall see what they are like at the end of the week….

Lastly, even though I am not doing this to lose weight, I am curious as to if it will affect my weight. I weighed myself tonight when I went to the gym (Yes, I know that the best time to weigh yourself is in the morning, because you don’t have all of the food and other factors effecting your weight, but this was when I remembered to do it). I found out that I weigh exactly 168 pounds which I’m happy with, we shall see if that changes at all by next week.

So now that I have a clear plan for what I want to do and what I want to look at I can start my self experiment. For the next week, I will be a bread free college girl and I hope y’all will learn some new things along with me!

 

Smile today!

~Molly

 

Leave a Reply

